Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Trevor McNamara - Yeah Captain (1971)

Trevor McNamara's career started in the Adelaide group 5 Sided Circle. During that time he also wrote "H.M.S. Buffalo", picked up by psychedelic band Inside Looking Out for their last 45. He left after two years with and formed Musick Express. Their only single "Jackie's Thing/How Does Paternity Suit You" reached the Top 100 in 1970 but they quit soon afterwards. "Jackie's Thing" can also be heard on the excellent Incredible Sound Show Stories #13 compilation. He then recorded enough material for a solo album, which was finally released in 1971 on the little Nationwide label and was highly touted by those who have heard it. Musically speaking not much was heard about him since. As far as I understood he changed his instruments with brushes and found fulfillment in paintings but in 2010 he reformed his first band 5 Sided Circle for a few gigs. World in Sound re-issued his album in 2001 (World in Sound WIS 1009) with two bonus tracks from his lone single. The music is a mishmash of different styles, ranging from Psychedelic (Silver/Yeah Captain) to Folk/Singer/Songwriter (The Gun/P.I.P./Living On A Strain) or Prog influenced Pop/Rock (Now/Digging). It seems he didn't know in which direction he should go and it's no wonder that Trevor McNamara itself didn't like "Yeah Captain". To my ears it's not that bad and there are some pleasant cuts on the album but it's also not fully convincing and especially no lost gem.

- Silver
- Waking
- The Gun
- 15
- Jackie's Thing [From The Pop Opera 'Piano']
- Joseph Blackwell
- Riding To Athenbury
- Yeah Captain, Pt. 1
- Now
- P.I.P.
- Cavalier
- Digging
- I'm Very Sane Thank You
- Black Girl
- Sinners
- Living On A Strain
- Yeah Captain, Pt. 2
- Morocco [bonus]
- Country Corn [bonus]

Trevor McNamara
(bs, cello, drms, flute, gtr, keyb'ds, sax, vcls)

Adelaide (South Australia)

1. Yeah Captain (Nationwide NLP 029) 1971

1. Morocco/Country Corn (Nationwide NSP-041) 1971

Get it here (Artwork included)

Listen to Silver

1 comment:

Parttio73 said...

A superb album. Thank you for posting.