Sunday, October 12, 2008

Duncan Browne (1973)

Duncan Browne's self-titled second album plays like a direct sequel to his debut long-player, Give Me Take You; he uses the same acoustic guitar and writes in a similar idiom, especially on tracks like "Country Song" and "The Martlet." Indeed, apart from the fact that it's generally better recorded, most of Duncan Browne could easily have slotted into the earlier album; the only exceptions are the more elaborately produced songs, such as "Ragged Rain Life," with its electric guitar sound, the keyboard-embellished "Babe Rainbow," and the bluesier, Dylan-esque "Journey," which was a substantial hit in England. Browne's style elsewhere on the record is unique unto himself, built around hauntingly beautiful melodies, mostly in a folk idiom, with some choice results, including the exquisite "Over the Reef" and "My Old Friends." He saved the best for last, a valedictory number entitled "Last Time Around," featuring extensive and impressive acoustic guitar ornamentation that gives way to some surprisingly tasteful progressive rock electronic sounds on the choruses. The RAK album was reissued on CD by EMI (EMI 724353562328) in 2002 with four bonus tracks, comprised of odd single sides and a pair of outtakes that extended the record's stylistic range considerably, into a more purely electric rock, more standard (though still enjoyable and attractive) singer/songwriter mode - although the last of the bonus tracks, the previously unissued "Mignon," is easily the prettiest song that Browne ever recorded and is thoroughly in the style of his first LP. Even overlooking its own intrinsic merits, Duncan Browne is worth owning as a more mature and developed, if slightly less spontaneous, expression of the sensibilities that forged Give Me Take You.
(Bruce Eder in "allmusic Guide")

You can also find his wonderful first album on the Time Has Told Me blogspot.

- Ragged Rain Life
- Country Song
- The Martlet
- My Only Son
- Baby Rainbow
- Journey
- Cast No Shadow
- Over The Reef
- My Old Friends
- Last Time Around
- In A Mist (bonus)
- Send Me The Bill For Your Friendship (bonus)
- Guitar Piece (bonus)
- Mignon (bonus)

Duncan Browne (vcls)

Band origin:

1. Give Me Take You (Immediate IMSP 018) 1968
2. Duncan Browne (Rak SRKA 6754) 1973

1. On The Bombsite/Alfred Bell (Immediate IM 70) 1968
2. Resurrection Joe/Final Asylum (Bell BLL 1119) 1970
3. Journey/In A Mist (Rak RAK 135) 1972
4. Send Me The Bill/My Only Son (Rak RAK 162) 1973

Get it here (Artwork included)

Listen to Baby Rainbow


Anonymous said...

Thankx for this nice record.

Anonymous said...

Vaya, tenía poca confianza en este disco, pero me ha sorprendido gratamente.

No te fíes de las apariencias (de las portadas, digo).

Muchísimas gracias. Thankx.

Twil said...

This is one of my favourite LPs of the early seventies, thanks very much


Anonymous said...

Your blog is a psych/mod/freakbeat/folk/good music/etc. head's wet dream marerialized in living 3D!!! Thanks so much! I consider it a gift from beyond.

Anonymous said...

I was impressed listening to the Duncan Browne' 1st album. Very calm, deep, fragile and beautiful, in the very English style. And what a surprise to find that he's got one album more - a real treasure!
Thanks for this one very very much!

Menial Cherub said...

Good Day,
Just discovered Duncan Browne actually today and your blog as well and have enjoyed your review. I managed to get a copy of the song Journey, which I enjoyed and have since spent the rest of the afternoon looking for the rest of the album, which I have been unable to find. In your post the "Get it here" link to fails, and I was wondering if you were inclined to re-upload it again some time? I would really like to hear the rest of the record so I hope you decide to some time soon...☮