Wednesday, January 23, 2008

126 - One Two Six (1966-68)

This is by request. I've got this rip a long time ago from a source I can't remember. 126 were from Bodø/Norway. The members were Gunvar Marken (gtr), Roger Saksenvik (drms), Asbjørn "ASA" Krogtoft (gtr, vcls) and Oddvar Hansen (bs). They released seven singles and one album entitled "Curtains Falling" which is a bit of a disappointment. It consisted mostly of beat ballads and slow folk-rock songs done in a Dylan style. BUT it has also one monster track, the opener "Mirror For Sale", a cool freakbeat/psychedelic number. Too bad that the remaining songs are not in the same style. The 2 CD set, which was released by Sonet (Sonet KSCDD 24 / 1995), contains the complete output of this band. In addition you can hear the two 45's from 1968 that "ASA" Krogtoft made with his later band "Taboo".

[CD 1]
- Mirror For Sale
- That's Why I'm Here
- Today
- I Don't Want Love
- M.E.S. (Mailbox Execution System)
- Curtains Falling
- Elisabeth
- Sing And Smile
- Graveyard Paradise
- Who's Been Sleeping In My Bed
- We're Too Young
- The Rowboat Captain
- Veto
- Little You
- Wake Up Johnny
- I'm Jokin'
- 1-2-6
- I'm Poisoned
- Kvinne I Sort

[CD 2]
- Graveyard Paradise
- Theme From A Green Mailbox
- Today
- We're Too Young
- 1-2-6
- The Rowboat Captain
- Vampire Tango
- You're My Friend
- Queen Of Spades
- Fonebone Street
- Graveyard Paradise (Edens Kirkegård)
- Våren -65
- Livet Va' Musikk
- 17 Fool, Heh!

Asbjørn "ASA" Krogtoft (gtr, vcls) [AB]
Gunvar Marken (gtr) [AB]
Oddvar Hansen (bs) [AB]
Hans-Erik Steffersen (drms) [A]
Roger Saksenvik (drms) [B]

Asa Krogtoft (vcls, gtr)
Willy Andrrsen (lead gtr)
Sverre Fagerli (bs)
Nils Ove Steinbakk (drms)

Band origin:
Bodø (Norway)

1. (A) Curtains Falling (RCA Victor LSP 10156) 1968

1. Veto/Little You (RCA Victor NA 45-1288) 1966
2. Graveyard Paradise/Wake Up Johnny
   (RCA Victor NA 1318) 1967
3. Kvinne I Sort/Da Var Hun Atter Like Blek
   (RCA Victor NA 1325) 1967
4. Who's Been Sleeping In My Bed/I'm Jokin'
   (RCA Victor NA 1326) 1967
5. Elisabeth/Today (RCA Victor NA 1328) 1967
6. Curtains Falling/We're Too Young
   (RCA Victor NA 1336) 1968
7. 126/I'm Poisoned (RCA Victor NA 1339) 1968
8. Vampire Tango/You're My Friend
   (RCA Victor NA 1333) 1968
9. Queen Of Spades/Fonebone Street
   (RCA Victor NA 1342) 1968

[3. as Asa]
[6. + 7. as Asa & 126]
[8. + 9. as Taboo]

Get it here (Artwork included)

Listen to Mirror For Sale


Edorf Dlojks said...

Great norwgian band!

Anonymous said...

Thank you for this post. I didn't know them.

Anonymous said...

Thanks for the great record


Anonymous said...

Thanks for a great blog! This isn't a comment to this post, just some links for Ripples, Vol. 7. Uploaded them for you, but the post suddenly disappeared. Anyway, here are the links:

They're mp3 at 256.

Faintly Blowing FanClub

Buffalo Billycan said...

Thanks a lot. I really appreciate that. Myself (and I believe all the other people who visit this blog) are very pleased that you did that.

aldo said...

Yeah, Mirror for sale is great and just one of a couple that i knew...i hesitated after reading the's been over a month now, and i've been listening to this A LOT...I suppose it's kind of an atypical album - ALL ORIGINALS in every sense...i love those ballads, real growers, the Dylanesque stuff too and a couple of great upbeat numbers, MSE and Sing and smile.
Many many thanks for this post.
As soon as i started listening to this I got my latest copy of UGLY THINGS...and guess what? there's a great feature on 1 2 6 and lots more on early Norwegian Pop!

aldo said...

I'm not sure about the current availability of the above 2CD set, but if you WANT this BRILLIANT stuff UGLY THINGS is about to release it and very importantly is doing legitimally with full approval of Asa that will obviously (deservedly)benefit from those sales!